Sunday, October 16, 2011

map of western european countries

Countries described as Western European are invariably high-income developed countries, characterized by democratic political systems, mixed economies combining the free market with aspects of the welfare state, and most are members of NATO and the European Union.

The United Nations (UN) Statistics Division considers Western Europe to consist of just nine countries, although the United Nations Regional Groups include European countries from the so called UN-designated Northern and Southern Europe in its Western European and Others Group.

The conquest of the Byzantine Empire, center of the Eastern Orthodox Church, by the Muslim Ottoman Empire in the 15th century, and the gradual fragmentation of the Holy Roman Empire (which had replaced the Frankish Empire) led to a change of the importance of Roman Catholic/Protestant vs. Eastern Orthodox concept in Europe.

Post-war Europe would be divided into two major spheres: the West, influenced by the United States, and the Eastern Bloc, influenced by the Soviet Union. With the onset of the Cold War, Europe was divided by the Iron Curtain.

Map Europe


Maps of Western Europe

Map of Europe showing the

Europe Map Showing Travel

Maps of Western Europe

European countries map


File:Western Europe in the

mapping of Western Europe

Cruising Europe\x26#39;s Waterways

Division of Europe,

Map of western Europe

The climate of Europe is

Western Europe map

islands in Western Europe,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home